Mustard Tasting

Most of the mustard we use in the test kitchen is coarse-ground or Dijon, but there are times when nothing but yellow “hot dog” mustard will do. To find out which yellow mustard is best, we rounded up 8 national brands and gathered our tasting panel for a blind taste test.

Based on the preliminary plain tasting, one mustard has stood out from the rest: Colman’s from England, which was very spicy and tasters were unpleasantly surprised–even though it has the same basic ingredients as the others.  The kitchen will be testing mustard with hot dogs next, but as of right now we have the big boys, Gulden’s and French’s, at the top, and we expect the results won’t change much after the hot dog tasting…but they might.

Published in: on March 5, 2010 at 1:08 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christopherkimball.wordpress.com/2010/03/05/mustard-tasting-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hope you got to try my favorite German mustard ‘Loewnsenf Extra’🙂

  2. I have to say that Coleman’s is my favorite mustard. It adds just the right zing to sandwiches–biting through the other flavors without overwhelming them.

    I’ll be interested to see what all the testers think!

  3. I recommend trying this with some not so famous brands such as Wild Mountain Gourmet!

  4. Try it with Raye’s mustard from Maine:
    http://www.rayesmustard.com/

  5. What’s up, after reading this amazing article i am aas well cheerful to share mmy experience here with colleagues.

  6. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any tips and hints for newbie blog
    writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  7. Ahaa, its good dialogue regarding this paragraph at this place at this webpage, I have read all that,
    so now me also commenting at this place.


Leave a Reply

