Haunted House and Summer Pastures

This is our local haunted house. It used to be a girls' school and has a basement that would have been the perfect set for either the Amityville Horror or the Blair Witch Project. Strange noises, faceless ghosts, and very scared house guests are just a few of its calling cards. Photo by Stephen Hussar

This is the summer pasture for our beef cattle. The land had become forested over the last 50 years and we had it cleared and returned to pasture. Many years ago, it was used by Harley Smith as summer pasture for his dairy cows.

The upper part of the summer pasture -- we plant good forage for deer in this upper lot so they often come in to graze. It is a good spot for bow hunting as well.

Rhoda makes her way up the road. As usual, I have raced ahead -- it is a nice long stretch of road with a slight incline, perfect for a gallop.

Published in: on June 15, 2011 at 7:29 pm  Comments (108)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://christopherkimball.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/haunted-house-and-summer-pastures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

108 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So Chris, are working with a film camera or are you getting creative with Photoshop? I like the square format and film like quality of the black and whites.

  2. Hello, Christopher!

    Greetings from Waterford, Vermont, where I’m lucky enough to enjoy views like these as well. I am curious as to whether you ever host cooking classes, or anything of the like, at your farm. I am a huge fan of your work, and as a fellow Vermonter I’d love to join you in such adventures, if they exist.

    I apologize for leaving this as a blog response, but I am not so sure of the best way to get in touch.

    Cheers!
    Courtney.

    • wow, what a great idea. I live in New Jersey and watch your show as much as possible and would love to come for a week for a cooking class. please give it thought and costs. love ya, Linda A.

      • Love, Love, Love your show and totally enjoy everything you send to me. Keep the emails coming, Chris…thanks! Carol

  3. SO WHERE IS THIS AT, AND WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME ANYONE INTER D THE HOUSE

    • Yikes Paul!
      Try this, “Where is this house, and when was it last entered?”

      • Thank the Lord that there are still people out there like you, Nancy who still care about proper grammar and are willing to do something about it. I can’t tell you how saddened I am to see incorrect spellings and poor grammar everyday, everywhere I look – all due to texting and twitter ! Keep up the good work !

      • Yikes Nancy! Try this, “You are very rude to correct Paul’s entry!”

  4. very nice. I live in the uk and read the letter from vermont. Gives a little insight to life over there.

  5. I love your cookbook. I have been a member of this program for years and always enjoy the articles and recipes on each and every letter sent to my e-mail address.

  6. Chris,
    Where are you in Vermont? it looks like it might be
    near Arlington.
    Best,
    Tim Warner

  7. Have you thought of raising your bees chemical free. We belong to a club http://www.lonestarfarms.net and do not use chemicals.

    • I think this is a great idea (chemical-free)! Chris – I would expand this to your cooking; using organic and local pesticide-free fruits and vegetables should be a focus of your show, particularly with the Vermont influence. I’d also like to see you incorporate more vegetarian cooking. Otherwise, I enjoy the newsletter, as I lived in VT, so can picture it while I read your stories!!

      Thanks,
      Lynn

  8. looks like a path into the Oxbow east of Pawlet

  9. I like the hipstamatic app too. It is a lot of fun!

  10. Christopher,

    It was simply delightful to read your newsletter. It was like setting down to a letter that my Mom would have written years ago. You just don’t get that anymore in this hectic, hurry up and wait world. The part about the bees made me smile; it’s amazing how much easier things are when you know what your doing! I’ve found that a lot in my life. I thought it was fascinating that you came upon partridges. I’ve never seen a partridge for real. Thank you for the wonderful letter and keep up the good work. You are an awesome writer. I could just see everything you were describing. Pat Rutter, Deshler, OH

  11. Purists might sneer, but if you eat the zucchini flowers (I used the recipe in the “Soprano’s Family Cookbook”, which IS actually a cookbook you won’t have so many zukes in your garden. I agree that you can only bake so many loaves of zucchini bread/cake and STILL be harvesting BASEBALL BATS of Zucchini each day for saute, etc. These colorful and delicious little flowers were delicious and vanished in seconds! The more flowers you eat, the fewer zucchini’s you’ll have! They must be prepared and eaten the day you bring them indoors and remember to remove any bees caught inside! EVERY one of mine contained a little bee. I guess the flower closed over them, sensing an intruder? Anyway – great alternative to massive zucchini harvest and when your neighbors run and hide seeing you come with more ‘give-aways’

    • Love the ‘baseball bat’ description of the ever-present zucchinis! There is a joke here in northern California: Why do you need to lock your car doors during the summer everywhere you go? Because if you don’t, people will unload all their extra zucchini! Zucchini got to be too much for me; I don’t plant it anymore, just buy some at the farmer’s market.

      As a native Vermonter, the newsletter is always a treat; it feels like i am home.

    • the best time of day to collect the flowers is first thing in the morning, when the flowers are open and you will be able to see if any little critters in the blossom. Italian clam cakes are what they are called in RI.

  12. Very interesting pictures. I really like the haunted house.

  13. Thank you for letting us see those pictures. I seems very peace full

  14. Love your interesting Letters From Vermont. It’s a part of the world I would love to travel to with a side trip to see your lovely facility. Keep up the good work!

  15. I was raised in Burlington. Dad drove us around on weekends

  16. I have been to Vermont/New Hampshire area and it is indeed God’s country. I just loved the laid back old time lifestyle and the small quaint villages. The scenery in fall is breathtaking with the sun shining on the yellow birch and fall colors. I also enjoy reading your letters as it brings back those memories of long ago.

  17. Thanks for the memories!!
    I used to live in upstate NY and visit vermont in the fall.

    Lovely!!!!

  18. Your hazy, lazy, crazy way of telling stories is just what I need to slow me down. Thanks for sharing tales of your bucolic lifestyle.

  19. I look forward to seeing your pictures. They always depict what appears to be a simple simple life in a beautiful setting. I know in this case clearing brush is anything but easy and simple, but the results are both beautiful and pragmatic.

  20. Your letters really capture the essence of Vermont. I live on Long Island, but spend my winter weekends and some full weeks in Vermont. We moved this spring from Chester to Ludlow and will now have access all year round. I hope to be able to enjoy all four Vermont seasons for myself. I will wave when I see you.

    • I hope you will laugh at this. When I was a girl I lived in Chester. Our barn had a long narrow hallway on one side that was called “Ludlow”. Years earlier the owner of the place had many daughters and he built this hallway to a 3-seater indoor outhouse so they wouldn’t have to go out into the cold and snowy dark to the outhouse. It was called Ludlow because the town of Ludlow was in the direction to which the hallway pointed. (We had indoor plumbing!)

      • Sounds like a great idea! Sure beats trudging through the deep snow to get to it.

  21. I love all of Christopher’s writings!! It is very easy to close your eyes and imagine that you are also at these locations having the same experiences!! I look forward to each issue of my Cook’s magazine to read his article.

  22. Great pictures–looks like you have your own piece of “Heaven”” right in your backyard-

  23. Americana at its best, Just long for those good old days away from all the cell phones, i-pads and distractions of nature.

  24. Truly love your letters with pictures and stories of Vermont! We have traveled to Vermont a few times over the past years, and always enjoy seeing your beautiful state. Also, love your cooking program due to the fact we not only learn to cook but learn about so many other things as well ~ history, the products you recommend, and so much more. It was a good story about the haunted house ~ glad it is haunted by a ‘friendly’ ghost! Perhaps on our next trip we can visit your facility! Keep teaching!

  25. My wife and I really enjoy your Letters from Vermont as well. We’ve been talking about a trip to Vermont for the past few years, but now we’ve got an infant with us, so it may be a while longer (not that we mind – we’re truly blessed!). Is the “haunted” house available to stay at? We live in one here in Texas, so it wouldn’t be anything out of the ordinary for us… Thanks for all you do, and we’ll be looking forward to your next letter!

    Rev. & Mrs. Ryan M. Lozano+
    Lockhart, Texas

    PS: We live in the official BBQ Capital of Texas – you and the crew from Cooks Country should come down and do a story – we’d love to have y’all here!

    R+

    • So are you a Smitties or Blacks fan? We stop in at one or the other when we take that rout from Fort Woth to Kennedy to my outlaws ranch in Kennedy.

      Gigem

      • Neither – the real locals eat at Chisholm Trail! Blacks and Kreutz’s seem to get all the tourist business, but the best stuff is cooked by Floyd Wilhelm and family over at Chisholm Trail… It’s worth the (short) drive for us, even though we live right up the street from Smittie’s.

    • Being from Texas, and also knowing the area where the Cooking Show house is located, I think it would be a great idea for the Cooking Show to film a segment in Lockhart or even Fredericksburg where we live.

      Our son and daughter-in-law own a property just up and across the street from the Cooking Show house and we love to visit that area. Truly God’s country. Everyone should spend some leisure time there.

      • Lockhart AND Fredericksburg would be great – we try to make it out there a few times a year – especially to the Winery!

  26. Really enjoy your shows and these letters are wonderful. We too live in a similar setting in Northern Wisconsin. Gotta’ love the country and all that it offers. Can’t beat fresh air carrying the scent of country roses and the taste of June strawberries. We too would love to visit your area someday soon.

  27. Chris,
    Thank you for your great letters which make me feel as if I am hearing from a good and interesting friend…..

  28. Morning Chris, Enjoy reading your notes of the wonderful life there in VT. I am curious to know what you all plant there for the deer to forage on? Thanks Norman

  29. I know Vermont looks lovely and romantic. I lived in Walden for 10 years and it is a hard life unless you have a trust fund or own “Cook’s Ilustrated”! I now live in Sherman CT, a rural, beautiful little town with under 4,000 people. All the charm and quiet life of VT but without the junk cars in the door yard, the old couch on the front porch and the bonus of places to work to make a decent living.

  30. Hello from the Los Angeles area! I, too, love reading your Letters From Vermont. Your essays are entertaining to read, winsome, and evoke a different lifestyle from the one I reside in! :) Thank you for sharing these vignettes!
    p/s Thankful that you/beekeeper are taking care of the bees. In California, the loss of the bee population is causing concern. :(

  31. Your photos bring back memories for me when I lived in England. As a child I enjoyed a forest that I could walk in from my backyard. Great memories. One day I happened to see a beautiful red fox.

    Vermont is a beautiful state that we visited on our anniversaries.

    Thankyou for your great cooking shows and interesting letters.

    Enjoy life!

  32. Chris:
    I love your stories! As well as your cooking show. I eagerly await each issue of Cook’s magazine and save each one.

    • I also want to tell you my daughter lived in a haunted house right here in Missouri when she was first married. At night when her husband was working (he was a police officer) she would hear noises upstairs and when she looked at her cat, the hair would be standing straight up! She would actually leave and go to a coffee shop until she knew her husband was coming home. Finally one night, her husband went upstairs and my daughter said it was funny to hear him talking to the “ghost”. “We’re not trying to hurt you!” he would be saying. After that, my daughter said, she no longer heard the noises while her husband was at work!

  33. Thanks for you letter from Vermont. I’m glad to hear that someone is having summer. Here in northern Idaho, the temps struggle to reach 70 on most days. Makes a case for greenhouses of which we have one on the roof.

  34. I enjoy your letter and the pictures. Maybe you can help me find a recipe for corn pudding as a dessert not a side dish. My husband and I were in Springfield, Mass back in the early 60’s and had this dish for dessert.. Unable to find it and have been asking people from the area. Could it be a corn bread pudding.
    Mary Samarin.

  35. Dear Chris — love the black and white photos. Please do more. Your letters from Vermont are always good, something I look forward to reading, and sharing. All the best — Alex

  36. I always enjoy your thoughtful letters. The TV show is great.

  37. I enjoy the black and white photos. I can use my imagination to color the backgrounds, the different shades of greens of the grass and leaves. Keep up the good work!

  38. The news has told of the flooding in the Dakotas, Mississippi and Nebraska. Not once have I heard about the same events in your area. It is good to see a town coming together to take care of business.
    I enjoy your stories. They make me feel as if I were there.
    Happy Fourth!!

  39. That last picture reminds us “The woods are lovely, dark and deep . . .” and the whole letter is as welcome as the poem; we look forward to each one. Our farm background is over 70 years ago, and it’s kind of touching base. Add cooking, and it really reaches out and grabs. And oh, do we wish we were there!

  40. hello chis,enjoy the letter..almost a modern revisit to golden pond,vermont style..the turtles road,as you would say.larry from florida

  41. Dear Chris, Just a quick note to say thank you for taking the time to write your letters. I know the reason for writing them is multifaceted, but I truly appreciate the familiarity with which you write. While growing up, I spent my summers and numerous weekends on my German grandparents farm in a small community here in Texas. Reading your letters evokes many found memories. Oh, the stories I could tell about Papa and his bees. My brother and I would get the first piece of comb, dripping with deep, amber honey. Life doesn’t get much better than that, unless you are the one sitting on top of the ice cream maker, because then you get the first taste! Thanks again for sharing your Vermont life with us readers. It is truly a joy to receive the letters, pics and recipe links.
    Melinda, from Texas

  42. I ENJOY YOUR LETTERS FROM VERMONTH, THE STORIES AND PICTURES.. LOVE THE SHOW…THANKS

  43. I really love your regular columns, and your magazine is the very best resource on cooking ever. I outgrew recipes many years ago, but I never get enough improved techniques and you guys really work it.

    But as a “recovering Texan”, a comment in a recent Cooks Illustrated really cracked me up. Something about using Mesquite chips for smoking and getting a nasty, bitter creosote smell in the food.

    Well, duh! Only a damn Yankee would smoke with Mesquite. Mesquite is for grilling. Oak is for smoking. The two methods are as different as night and day.

    Next thing you know, you guys will be telling us to crack our hard-boiled eggs on the wrong end.

    And don’t ever use a sheep to make goat’s head soup.

  44. I plan to come to VT one day, and visit Baileys Mills B&B, and of course see the cemetery. All of this area was my familys at one time, many many years ago. The cemetery is something like “In Spite Of” which has a long history behind it. Vermont is a very pretty state, especially in the fall. I really enjoy the shows, and the recipes. Makes my mouth water. Like the updates! Thanks

  45. VERMONT IS GORGEOUS, UTTERLY GORGEOUS. A LITTLE CHILLIER THAN S. CALIFORNIA BUT VT’S BREATHABLE AIR AND PASTORAL BEAUTY MAKES UP FOR MANY THINGS. A FEW YEARS AGO, I SALVAGED A PICTURE OFF AN OUTDATED CALENDAR A FRIEND WAS THROWING AWAY….AN AUTUMN FARM/PASTORAL SCENE W/ WINDING ROAD IN PEACHUP, VT. I HOPE TO GO THERE SOON. IF I GET LOST WANDERING AROUND, SO BE IT.

  46. I so enjoy reading Letters from Vermont. You are a fine writer. Have you written any books? Have you thought of a compilation of the letters?
    Thanks
    Diane

  47. Greetings from Ontario, Canada.
    I always enjoy reading your letters very much.
    Your magazine, cookbooks and T.V. show are all
    great. Your recipes are always fantastic.
    I would love to be able to visit Vermont someday
    soon, it looks just wonderful.
    Thanks, Sandy Adams.

  48. I enjoy reading your newsletters and viewing the photos. I have not visited Vermont but would love to someday.

  49. I always enjoy your Leters from Vermont and have watched America’s Test Kitchen and then Cook’s Country on PBS for years. I noticed t5hat our PBS station no longer carries Cook’s Country. Have you stopped producing this program? Sorry to hear about the flooding. Down here in Texas we’re in severe drought and high fire conditions. I don’t suppose any place s perfect.
    Kim Bird
    Lewisville, TX

  50. Thirty Seven Years ago today there were horses in a field behind a house in Perkinsville, Vermont. They had been ridden there by Kelly and Sherry and if anyone reading this has had friends arrive at their Wedding in a more stylish fashion, I do not know about it.

    Saturday, June 29, 1974 was the day I married the prettiest strawberry-blonde in the State of Vermont and, Mr. Kimball, your letters and photos always spark warm memories within me.

    Thank you

  51. Love, love, love your folksy letters. You really have a gift for writing.
    I try never to miss one of your shows here in Houston on Channel 8 PBS, and have many of your books and DVDs.
    I have a question, please. In one of your nice letters you showed photos of two guest houses with links for details and possibly renting one. I checked your booking calendar and responded with questions about possible open dates for this August. I never got a response…….it’s too late for my family for this summer, but how does one make contact to get this sort of information? (I did call some of the phone numbers I have for your various endeavors and left this information, but still no response.
    All the best to you and your family,
    Nancy

  52. Where are you in Vermont/ I lived in the Bethel/Randolph area in the 80’s and it is truly beautiful there. I love your letters. Keep ‘em coming!@

  53. After years of reading the letters you open each issue of Cook’s with, I’m thrilled to see pictures of the places you’ve described… Thank you so much.

  54. Love your blog & your show
    Keep up the stories & recipes!!

  55. Immensely enjoy your shows. I have been visiting Southern Vermont for 7 years and found it enchanting, like going back in time. I now live here. Originally from NJ (over the Hudson River from Manhattan) its somewhat of a culture shock. But a tremendously pleasant one with the scenery and farms.
    I viewed your photos of that haunted house…sometimes I think I am in one here, but havent seen any ghosts yet. Dont want to either.!!!!.

  56. I THINK EVERY TOWN HAS A HAUNTED HOUSE IN IT… WE ALSO OWN A FARM IN N.Y.STATE THAT MY SON EXPERIENCED A HAUNTING EPISODE IN

  57. Love your stories and your show. I can’t believe you can field dress and deer and you cook! You are a hoot -a real “one of a kind”. You must have a really neat wife too. God Bless Linda from Atlanta

  58. Thank you for what you have given to the “Field of eating.” Your honesty and simplicity and those of your partners in cooking are a welcome to the TV scene. I have actually used your recipes and recommendations. I have your book and have given it to my niece and nephew, both admirers of your program.
    I am thrilled that your daughter is coming to BROOKLYN! It is the center of the world and where most of the people who immigrated to this country first started out. She will love it and we will make her fell like home. If ever my husband and I can help her please feel free to give her our info and to call. I live on Plaza St so she will know just where in Brooklyn I’m located.
    Again, thank you for your creative self and sharing with us the “Fruits of you labour.”
    Brooklyn Mary

  59. This letter was one of the most enjoyable email I have received in a long time and I get way too many every day. We love watching the show and appreciate the tips that have helped us in the kitchen. We are very good cooks but tips that make things even better are very appreciated. The ten step Thanksgiving turkey program was great and I traditionally have everyone for Thanksgiving and it is considered a fantastic meal-with this program, I found some tips that will make my life easier. We will be traveling to upstate New York in July and decided to fly in to Boston and take a few days for a road trip up the coast of Maine….I think a couple of those days we will be driving into Vermont on our way to Albany. Can’t wait. p.s. this letter has convinced me I need to subscribe to the magazine. Thanks.

    • Subscribe. You’ll never regret it!!!

      • For many years my husband N I would bring folks from CA (several who’d never even seen the mississippi river ) to walk Inn to Inn in Vermont…Everyone of is still talking about ir!! There was so much more than they had expected…and we were so happy to be able to share it.. Really enjoy yhour writing…Hope that you publish them one day!

  60. Thanks for the nostalgia. We were born in New England and then the KLoird moved us to the Midwest. We decided to settle in Wisconsin as this reminds us of the New England that we remember. Keep up the good work. We have decided to be as self sufficent as possible. I have my own fleece bearers and I have sold some yarn. Keeps me busy. Can’t wait to hear you again. Ellie

  61. The partridge encounter reminded me of the time my wife and I were hiking a trail near Banff, Alberta, and came nearly face to face with a pair of grouse or ptarmigan sitting on the lower branch of a pine tree. I was astounded that they didn’t flush, but rather sat there blinking at me at eye level only two feet away. They were either completely tame, or just wild enough to have never seen a human, and didn’t know enough to be scared.

    Keep the good letters coming, Chris.

  62. Left the northeast 40 some years ago, but that is still my favorite part of the country. Went to college in New Hampshire. Love to hear your stories and pictures – that is the way to live – if you are able.

  63. Your pictures remind me of the arguments my Dad and I used to have about whether Vermont was prettier (he retired to the Montgomery center area) or the Oxford Hills of Maine, where I still live. I did have to concede that the fall foliage in Vermont did have the edge.

  64. The upper pasture looks like the perfect place to just sit a spell, perhaps with some of that Vermont honey and a crusty loaf . . .
    I am always thankful for your mentions of hunting, and how your wonderful stories are so well-thought and serene. While perhaps not quite Thoreau they are every bit as calming in a far too-busy world.

  65. Enjoy reading about your goings and comings in Vermont. Love reading about the cows. Enjoyed the pictures. Never been to Vermont but it is a beautiful state. Love the Haunted House.

    Peggy

  66. A neighbor-friend (in Ohio) always forwards your VT news via e-mail. All it does is make me sad. Sad to think I ever moved far away from the State of my birth …Vermont! I was born and raised in a tiny little village in the most northeast corner: Canaan. Part of the Northeast Kingdom, on the Canadian border, the N.H. border and the Connecticut River. Dad was the local milkman for 44 years, and owned 700 acres of pasture and woodland! Funny how a person begins to feel “homesick” and how nostalgia floods the soul as we get older. There was a time (in my youth) when I couldn’t wait to get off that farm and move far away to a city. Now, at 73, my heartstrings tug and I can barely wait for my annual high school reunion and another visit up there. THANKS for reminding me of what I’m missing…

  67. Hello Chris,
    Just a note from The Olympic Peninsula in Sequim Wa. Count yourself blessed Sir. We haven’t seen sunshine since last September. So when your finished with summer could you pass it on over. We have had nothing but grey skys and lots of moss. The amazing thing is in all this drabby grey skys, the herb garden has exploded. The basil vaulted the garden walls like and excaped prisoner and is now coming up in the lawn. The New Zealand Spinch is climbing the rain gutters. Rosemary and Oragano are setting up shop behind the Curry. Tarragon and Thyme are taken on the Parsley (or maybe thats carrots). The Mint is everywhere, including the potatos.
    I was hoping you could share your tips on how best to preserve herbs. I love the fresh taste and arroma of herbs and look forward to using them in my winter soups and stews. When ever I try to dry them they loose something and end up flavorless and loose that wonderful aroma. What works best? I also have a debate with my best pal that you should brind them first and she says you should blanch them.
    Your input would be most helpful.

    Growing crazy greens in Sequim, WA

    Becky G.

  68. Have you ever thought of putting all your “OH So Charming” Letters in a book? I’d buy and cherish and pass it on to the next generation. Thanks for them Lee

  69. Hi Chris! I have to say that I love your posts about hunting and shooting clay pigeons. Both are among my favorite past times. I shot the 1993 USSCA’s U.S. National Championships on Okemo Mtn. I stayed for the World FITASC Championships the following week fell in love with that game.

    Thank you, thank you, for your thoughtful expressions of sports afield.

    Lily Sieu

  70. Hi Chris,

    My father raised bees in our back pasture in Idaho. Strangely enough, his biggest problem was skunks. The little fellows just loved to tear apart the hive and eat the honey bees and all. Just goes to show we aren’t the only ones with a sweet tooth.

    Irene

  71. We have enjoyed walking INN TP INN in VT many times. frequently bring groups from CA to enjoy the walks. (Many of them had never been west of the Mississippi river !. Love the states of VT,N H and ME..We’ve walked and driven all three enjoying hunting for covered bridges, good food and great company! sure would lke to have you publish your letters and stories from your magazines. I share them and do not want my friends to miss out on your stories.
    California

  72. Simply beautiful.

  73. Chris
    Enjoy your Letters from Vermont very much. It’s just like sitting in the kitchen and having a conversation. They are very down to earth, just like you are. I like your show, watch it every chance I get–hope it stays on the air for a long time. We are also trap shooters. We were at the Ohio State Shoot all last week–amazing how many trap shooters there are out there!!
    Keep those letters coming
    Donna, in Ohio

  74. What a lovely old house! The area photos are gorgeous. I love reading your letters from Vermont also! You sound so comfortable and easy to listen to. We have a local writer who sounds a lot like you! Your style of writing evokes a country flavor – neighborly. Thanks

  75. Chris,
    I just love your letters. I have never been to Vermont but I have always dreamed of it. I read your letters and can just imagine I am there. It is pretty warm here in northeastern Kansas, half way between Manhattan and Topeka. Is to get up to 101 today. I’d love to be in Vermont!!! I do love your cooking show. Wonderful recipes and good tips. Keep up the good work and keep the letters coming. I always injoy the funny stories.

  76. As a long time subscriber to Cooks Illustrated, I have also enjoyed giving it as gifts to friends and relatives. Inspired by your wonderful letters from Vermont, we made it a point to spend a night in Bennington on our long trek from New Mexico to Maine.

    We live in a very hot …and extremely dry… desert, and your letters are a cool fresh breeze.

  77. Hi Chris,
    I look forward to your show and to my magazine all the time…We use to live in New England and spent many vacations up in Vermont…We are now in Hendersonville, N.C. and I must say, it is just as beautiful here as it is in Vermont….Keep those good cooking shows coming.
    Thank you and God Bless America!

    Esther L. Jacobson
    Hendersonville, NC

  78. Love your letters and your shows! And my library of your magazines and books is growing! I love that you put pictures of all the dishes on the backs….makes it so much easier to find things quickly.
    Keep up the good work!
    Pat Chase
    Broomfield, Colorado

  79. I’m a little disappointed in your possible belief of a haunted house… there are no such things. Just peoples imaginations going awry. Tell me what is the point of a “spook” walking around a building for eons? If you believe in God, as a God of love, where is the love in punishing his creation to be stuck to a house to scare people. It just doesn’t make sense. Old houses have creaking, have drafts and animals in the area can bring around thumps and screaching. I wish people would stop all this “ghost” stuff. It is equivilent to the rather large lady living in a trailer in the mid-west, in a multi-colored mumu with curlers in her hair, claiming that she and Billy Bob saw a UFO take their cow away in the middle of the night. Give me a break! I thought you guys were intelligent and not illogical. Hrumph!

  80. I, too, am a big fan of both your letters and your show. Thanks for making cooking fun again, and for not taking yourself too seriously on the show! My kids have become fans too and always comment on recipes they try. I’m an old-time cook but love to try something new. Thanks again.

  81. I live in Ashby, MA, a small town of 3000 – getting bigger! I NEVER delete your letters, as I might some others. It’s a great way to start my day. VT is about an hour from Ashby, up rt 119. My 44 year old son & I trek up that way, out of emotional necessity, in Spring & Fall. The scenery is awesome & relaxing. Reading your letters makes me yearn for our next trip. Do so enjoy our time ‘together’.
    Dianne

  82. Chris– Love your letters and editorials in the magazine! You are the Garrison Keillor of the cooking world.
    Bill in Tennessee

  83. My Aunt Jan lives in Houston, MN, yes, Minnesota. It is a small farming community in the south eastern corner of Minnesota. Her place sits up on a hill with rolling hils behind her. There are many scenes like these as we hike to the top. Watch out for rattle snakes!!!
    Robin in Minneapolis, MN

  84. I love the country stories you tell. Always so interesting and I watch your show every week and have learned alot from it. I get a kick out of your hand gestures while you talk. I’m told I do the same thing.

  85. hi chris–i went to school at neci in mt. pellier in the early 90’s–loved it up there!–i enjoy reading your articles and looking at the beautiful pics.–it is 98 degrees here in harrison, ar today–i miss vermont—respectfull–gregg parker

  86. I like the out of focus, Stormy sky and at night with the lights on in the house, Very cool effects.
    I also like the black and whites it looks like very old time photos. How hot does it get there anyway?
    Marilyn Maloch
    Livermore, California

  87. I’m a fan! One can escape the stress of the day by simply reading your newsletter. Pulls me back 50 years to a time dearly remembered when we all lived in a place like Vermont. I love your kind and simple approach to whatever comes your way, and the joy you display no matter what you’re doing. In an time that has placed so much emphesis on wealth and material possesions, you have brought back to my mind how priceless the simple life really can be. Keep up the good work! Linda, in Massachusetts

  88. Great views and pictures… but where i live we have green trees and grass…. but sometime i will visit your area and enjoy the black and white country side… thanks for sharing..

  89. CHRIS, I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE GIRLS TIE YOU HANDS BEHIND YOUR BACK WHEN YOU TALK AND I BET THAT NOT ONE WORD WOULD COME OUT OF YOU MOUTH; PUT THEM IN YOUR POCKET SOME TIME YOU MAKE ME DIZZY JUST WATCHING YOU TALK. NORMA

  90. Your comments regarding your bee hives brought back memories of visiting my grandparents as a child and having only honey available for all sweetening needs from breads, cereals, teas, etc. It cost money to buy sugar at a store so everyone only used honey. Best flavor ever. I buy mine each year at our State Fair from the Maryland Bee Keepers Association display and look forward the the many varied varieties they have available for sale. What a yearly purchase I so look forward to. Thanks for the memories.
    Cheri in Maryland.

  91. I love these photos. I want to be there. Gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

