Newborn Goat Kids in Vermont

Last weekend, we went over to Brad and Donna’s goat farm for dinner. Emily, our thirteen year old, bottle-fed the newborn kids after dinner. Brad cooked up a roast of pork from our farm, roasted fresh asparagus from his garden, made a salad of arugula to go with his homemade goat cheese, gave each of us a slice of escarole pie, and I brought a Caramel Cake for dessert, albeit a worse for wear during the truck ride. All in all, the perfect Vermont spring dinner.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published in: on May 12, 2011 at 5:17 pm  Comments (28)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://christopherkimball.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/newborn-goat-kids-in-vermont-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your blog. Is there any chance of you Escrole Pie receipy ! It looks delicious !!!
    Thanks, Tinker

  2. Can you address a cheese cake made with riccotta?

  3. Magnum chocolate and chocolate is the most decadent treat I have ever had. I love it!!! Move over Haagen Daz and Ben and Jerry and Dove there’s a new ice cream in town.

  4. I love home cooking Escarole pie looks delicious, pork looks amazing and the roasted potatoes tops it all off. Oh yeah the goats are adorable/

  5. Are the recipes available for the dishes you ate for dinner? They all sound delicious!

  6. I always love your letters, I share the pictures with my 5 year old grand daughter. She is going to love the baby goats.

  7. Christopher: I love America’s Test Kitchen, but I love, love your tid-bits from Vermont also. Don’t dismay, if America’s Test Kitchen ever goes off the air (which it will not) you can always make $$$ writing blogs from Vermont–they are so entertaining and interesting. Please tell your beautiful wife if I were younger, I would come to Vermont and try to steal you away, but since I’m 88 years young, alas, ’tis not to be!! However, I will always be an avid & loyal admirer!

  8. Howdy, gang…

    Ummmm…the only reason I learned of this blog is why? Subscriber,Viewer,FB liker…etc…etc…and the only reason I know of this blog is because of an entry in the latest VT letter? Is there an unwritten www law that says you can’t present a link on the various home pages you folks create?

    Come on people, time to work all the platforms.

    (End of needlessly snarky comment)

  9. Hello…I was viewing your slide show of the adorable baby goats and looked at the delicious dishes you prepared….I have never seen escarole pie, It looks just like spinach pie….I make spanakopita (spinach pie) quite often…i’m very curious to know if it consists of the same ingredients….I love watching your show and reading your news letters…I’ve learned a lot from your show….thanks!

    Bobbie Lynn

  10. Handsome GOATS!!

  11. You have some raw HTML in the blog:
    [gallery link="file" order="DESC" columns="1" orderby="title"]

  12. I love your writing and look forward to reading more from you.

  13. Morning Chris! Over the years, Cooks Illustrated has been a much looked forward Being disabled, funds have literally disappeared. Hopefully in the not so near future I’ll be able to re-start my subscription. At this time, please stop the almost daily reminders like this one. Thanks for your understanding. .

  14. Loved your blog on the spring dinner! My mouth watering as I read and viewed the photos – what a wonderful evening – the perfect way to enjoy the harvest from your own garden & from friends. Is there anything better in life? Good friend, good food and new life (the goats were adorable). Would love to purchase the goats cheese, is it available on line to be shipped? Would love if you shared recipes as well for the escarole pie and carmel cake….hmmmm thanks for an enjoyable morning read.

  15. Mr. Kimball –
    I have been a fan since the inception of Cooks

  16. Mr. Kimball –
    I have been an avid fan of yours and all of your shared endeavors since the inception of Cook’s Illustrated (way back when). From the stories shared in each issue of Cook’s to the stories shared of your life in these email letters to the stories that emerge on America’s Test Kitchen you’ve managed to entertain and teach many. For this I just want to finally thank you from the bottom of my Southeastern Wisconsin heart. You’re the best!

  17. I love America’s Test Kitchen and Cook’s Country programs as well as the info you send me. I am learning soooo much!
    Your letters make me almost want to move to Vermont except that I could never stand the cold.

    Thanks for all that you do for all of us!

  18. With all the tornadoes happening, I was wondering if root cellars would have been a safe haven. Why don’t more people have them?

  19. Mr. C.Kimball: I am absolutely taken up with your newsletters and writing. You remind me of Walt Whitman,Charles Dickens,and Hemmingway all put together.
    I have always wanted to live on a sprawling farm with some animals especially horses. Perhaps in Wyoming or in the New England area. Comunion with nature would give me a unique sense of calm.
    But it is just a pipe dream.I live in a suburb of Chicago.It is indeed an urban jungle.Folks and homes at such close quarters that I feel stifled.
    Maybe someday my husband and I and our ten(rescued)dogs will up and leave for “greener” pastures.
    Regards:
    Gitanjali Mullenix

  20. Loved the goat photos, thanks. Hopefully you are only going to use them for CHEESE and not kill them….they are little darlings.

    Enjoy your work so much, would like more vegetarian recipes. Everything and every recipe you give out WORKS so well, thanks very much.

    Best to you all, G. in Spain

  21. Love your show(s) and blog. The best coking show on MPT

  22. I meant cooking

  23. Love the pictures.

  24. CAN I OPEN YOUR RECIPES ON COOK’SCOUNTRY WITHOUT LEAVING A CREDIT CARD NUMBER?

  25. Read “Zlateh the Goat”, a short story from the same titled book by Isaac B. Singer–a most wonderful story.

  26. Please come up with a A.T.K. contest for guys like me! Perhaps a black powder hunt with Kimball in the wilds of the Northeast? Or learn to properly knead dough with Julia Colin Davidson? Or unraveling why my pizza dough sucks even though I bought the guide to baking and a stand mixer?

  27. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Many thanks

  28. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to grasp a lot approximately this, like you wrote
    the e-book in it or something. I feel that you can
    do with some p.c. to drive the message house a little bit,
    however instead of that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read.

    I will definitely be back.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

