A Tribute To Julia Child on ATK Radio

To Listen Click Here

Published in: on March 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm  Comments (60)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://christopherkimball.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/a-tribute-to-julia-child-on-atk-radio/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

60 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I could have listened for hours more of these memories of Julia Childs…thank you..

    • I have a copy of the album, got it 35+ years ago, still sounds great, and when I am in a particulary great Julia mood, listen to it just for the good feelings that it exudes……

    • Julia Child will always be my idol. In grad school, way before TIVO, I used to arrange my classes around the time Julia’s show was on PBS. She was fresh, uncut and sincere. I met and talked to her at the Midwest Food and Wine Conference in Chicago many years ago. We talked about my cheesecake business and I asked her why she never had a cheesecake recipe in any of her books. Julia’s response: “It’s not in the French tradition.” Can you hear her saying that?I loved her!

  2. To say Julia Childs was unique is an understatement. The best investments I ever made are her books and most recently the box set of CDs of her original (black & white) groundbreaking television shows (offered by PBS). Thanks to Julia, I know how to make crepes! The movie, Julia and Julie, is an excellent depiction of her life. I try to never miss any re-broadcast of her interviews and those who knew and worked with her.

  3. I am very happy to report, that I indeed have a copy of her recording of Tubby the Tuba, with Arthur Fiedler and the pops….I listen to it at least a few times every year……still sounds as good as the day I got it, like almost 35 or more years ago…..

  4. What a gem Julia was. I’ve read everything written by and about her and this radio spot was a great addition to what I know of her. Thanks so much!

  5. Julia is my culinary idol. Acquired love for cooking at a late age but pursued it till the end. Tops in my list.

  6. Nicely done, Mr. Kimball, very nicely done indeed. Thank you.

  7. I too could have listened for hours. What an inspiration for cooking lovers.

  8. What a wonderfully touching tribute. Can I have another serving?

  9. I got to meet Julia in person at a clambake sponsored by HayDay in Ridgefield, CT in the early 1990’s. She was warm and charming and made everyone feel like there was no other place she would rather be.

  10. What a sweet, touching tribute to a wonderful woman. Julia is missed, but she will remain in my mind and heart as the penultimate Queen of Cuisine. Lovely thoughts of this multifacted person. Thank you for bringing her back to me, for however short a visit.

  11. What a nice tribute to Julia Child; some wonderful insights that I had not known of before. Very well composed. I too could have listened to more.

  12. Wonderful listening to your Julia Childs program and the artistic colored patterns during that time were lovely. Reading your letter certainly brought back memories. Originally from Arlington, Mass and spent a great deal of time in Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine. Love those states. Thanks.

  13. Thank you for a few minutes of pure joy. I was transported back to Julia’s first days in television and up to her last years. I can’t stop smiling. This is a little gem.

  14. I was a little child when I was introduced to Julia via PBS. My Grandma taught my sissy well the finer art of culinary delights. Grandma was a Master Chef herself and a Huge fan and peer of Julia . Thank you Julia for it All . . God bless you.

  15. Just got Christopher’s email today with the link but it sadly doesn’t work for me.

  16. What wonderful memories. Thank you for airing this piece.

  17. It was a nice tribute, but…you intimated that it was Julia reading a childrens’ story to the Boston Pops, it ended with 3 seconds of what you proposed to be there.

    • Can I hear you in Central Florida? Hope so

  18. What a treat! Thank you for sharing those wonderful stories about Julia Child. We can all learn from her honest humor as well as her simple, but elegant, approach to her cooking.

  19. I could not wait to run home from school to watch her on T.V. WGBH Boston.
    Even though I am a home cook I still remember alot of techiques she had and I use them in my home.
    Thanks for the memories!

  20. How great it was to hear Julia, and how hard to keep the tears away.

  21. I sipped a glass of wine as I listened to this tribute. I lagughed and teared a bit as I knew we should never see her likes again. I am thankful that I can go back and revisit her and watch her old shows..cheers Julia

  22. I miss your country show much. I like the sound of the bells and music. It would come after you Test Kitchen show. I would plan my whole Saturday around it or if necessay I would recordit to watch later. Please bring it back. Marie

  23. What a truely great cook, person, she was…and yes surely missed. Thank you for this it was fun to hear!

  24. Thank you! I thoroughly enjoyed your touching tribute to Julia Child. Could you please tell me the name of the beautiful piano composition at the end?

  25. Thank you for the heartwarming tribute to a wonderful woman who changed cooking for the better in our country. Her influence and warmth will long be remembered. It is remarkable how many of us who never met her in person miss her as though she was part of our family.

  26. I very much wanted to hear “Tubby The Tuba” by Julia. Where is it?

    Tom

  27. I have the album, bought in the late 70’s or early 80’s. its a real hoot…..especially the ending….

  28. Ienjoyed listening to memories, but like one other person stated thought Julia was going to be reading. She is always such a character and I love watching old tapings and shows of her. One time when I was watching an old show of her, she was with Jaques Pippin and my husband had come down to tell me something and he stood and watched it for a few min. before I knew he was there and then he remarked ” I thought Julia was supposed to be some renowned chef, but these remarks she is making on the show make her look like she knows less about cooking then the normal everyday person does. I tried to explain to him why I thought she made the remarks that she did and it seemed to make some sense to him, but later thought about what I said and it didn’t make sense to me. Why she did what she did, but I still enjoye her shows.

  29. My Roll Model. I do miss Julia.

  30. Bless you for this collection of tender mercies.

  31. That was a wonderful tribute to a wonderful woman. She is missed by us all. Thank you.

  32. What a wonderful surprise your tribute was. Thank you for bringing back so many enjoyable memories of a person who gave me a deep love for cooking and entertaining.

  33. That was beautiful. She was the best of our time and there will be no one like her . Iwould love to hear more. Thank You very much….

  34. I would have to agree with what Jim Crighton said – it was kind of like false advertising. I also thought I was going to hear Julia reading Tubby the Tuba at the Boston Pops. That said, it was a very interesting story.

  35. I too could have listened for hours to your tribute to Julia. She was one of a kind. Thank you for doing this tribute.

  36. Did you know that Julie Childs gave a lot of the money she made from the cooking shows to Public TV-Boston to keep it on the air. She really played a BIG role in starting public TV. She was also a great cook that researched recipes to get them right. Some recipes like french bread she made like 1,000 times until it would work in the family oven. What a lady!

  37. In the early days of Julia’s cooking show, my young children never complained when I took over the TV in order to watch Julia. They watched and listened and enjoyed her just like they did with their child-oriented programs.
    Many years ago I replaced my original much-used copy of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” with a new and unblemished one. I miss the old one. I miss Julia.

  38. Very tastefully done. Brought back many good memories of watching her and learning so much.

  39. Thanks for bringing back some fond memories. I can’t recall ever missing one of her cooking shows. They were a MUST.

  40. Thank you. This was “lovely”. Bon Appetit!

  41. Your tribute was wonderful. It brought back lovely memories of watching her on our local PBS channel. Julia was the reason for my lifelong love of cooking and baking. Thank You

  42. Christopher, Your tribute brought good tears to my eyes.
    Thank you for the great memories of Julia.

  43. THANK YOU FOR DOING THIS. I ALSO ENJOY YOUR LETTERS FROM VERMONT.

  44. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for these interviews and memories. Julia was truly a precious person – and what a hoot. I learned so much from her books and TV shows. I have her videos, which I keep on the very top of my cookbook shelves. You do us all a great service by renewing these real life events…flaws (intended or not) and all. mbj

  45. Loved the tribute to Julia. I watched her a lot because she made me laugh-Her voice was unique to listen to, the movie Julia and Julia was so delightful and Ms. Streep nailed her to a tea. Thank you for the memories of Julia.

  46. This was delightful and brought back many happy memories watching and listening to Julia. Thanks so much for this beautiful tribute.

  47. What a fantastic story. Thank you Christopher for bringing tears to my eyes and a warmness to my heart and soul. Julia was truly a one of a kind diamond that will continue to sparkle, dazzle and shine for centuries. Again thank you for your heartfelt stories.

    Sincerely Kerrie

  48. This tribute to Julia was so very entertaining. I rarely just sit and “listen” at my computer, but I was completely involved.

  49. Thanks for the memories. i don’t have time to listen to it all now. i have to go upstairs and start supper. I am making Julia’s lamb stew recipe!

  50. Chris, I enjoyed your tribute to Julia. She caused my interest in cooking. Just watching her on public tv was so enjoyable. When is your radio program on?

  51. Please do more programs about her. We just can’t get enough of our Julia.

  52. Thanks so much for doing this tribute to Julia Child. She inspired so many people. Where would the cooking world be today without her inspiration??

  53. You did a wonderful job bringing out the essence of Julia Child in yout tribute. I wish that we could write to Chris after we read his thoughts in his newsletter. He has great humor and takes wonderful pictures or videos that he lets us all see. Wish I knew the Test Kitchen times so we could see it. God bless! Merle Peabody

  54. Julia was my idol. I once paid $50 (astronomical for me then) to see her cook in person. Her prep cook was a chef of local very high repute, and as he sweated and chopped away she gave him a little pat on the back as if to say, “It’ll be alright, dear.” I know she meant it only in sweet kindness but he actually seemed shorter after that.

  55. Lovely.

    On a different note, I wish you had just ONE online subscription for both CooksIllustrated.com and AmericasTestKitchen.com together. In this economy, I can’t afford more than one subscription. As it is, I had to stop my magazine subscription after over 10 years of being a subscriber.

  56. I found this particular link from searching for an author, who has words that sooth, priceless.

  57. hello there and thank you on your info – I have definitely picked up something new from proper here. I did alternatively experience a few technical issues the use of this website, as I skilled to reload the website a lot of times previous to I may get it to load correctly. I had been thinking about if your web hosting is OK? Now not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading circumstances times will very frequently have an effect on your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could glance out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you replace this once more soon..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

